Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Linking

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sta. Eugènia de Berga (Vic - Barcelona - Spain)
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Linking

    Hi,
    I'm developing an application on Windows with Visual Studio and Qt 4. Now I'm trying to port the application to MinGW(using Eclipse as IDE). I have changed a lot of code that MS compiler let's do and GNU compiler don't let it.
    Now the problem is on linking step. The compiler is getting me a lot of "_imp___" errors that I think that is because the libs that I'm linking are created using MS compiler and the GNU compiler is not able to link them.

    Am I right? Is there any solution? The libs are commercial and no source code is avaiable.

    Thanks,
    Òscar Llarch i Galán

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ukraine, Krivoy Rog
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanked 370 Times in 336 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Linking

    did you build qt for mingw?
    PS. use [b]reimp[b] tool from mingw bin utils to convert libs to libs which migw support.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sta. Eugènia de Berga (Vic - Barcelona - Spain)
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Linking

    Hi,

    Yes, I have 2 versions of Qt. One compiled for VS and the other one compiled for MinGW.
    The "_imp__" errors refer to the 3rd party libs that I'm using, not to Qt libs.

    Thanks,
    Òscar Llarch i Galán

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ukraine, Krivoy Rog
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanked 370 Times in 336 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Linking

    then use reimp tool for this libs for creating static libs which mingw recognize. they have *.a extension. and then link your app again with these libs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sta. Eugènia de Berga (Vic - Barcelona - Spain)
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Linking

    Hi,

    Thanks, I'm taking a look.
    Òscar Llarch i Galán

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sta. Eugènia de Berga (Vic - Barcelona - Spain)
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Linking

    Hi,

    The reimp tool have created "libOne.a" and "libOne.def". Have I to remove the "libOne.lib" file from the lib dir?
    In my PRO file I have added:
    LIBS += -L"C:\libs" -llibOne
    If I remove the "libOne.lib" file from the libs dir I'm getting this error:
    ld.exe: cannot find -llibOne

    Thanks,
    Òscar Llarch i Galán

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ukraine, Krivoy Rog
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanked 370 Times in 336 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Linking

    specify full name of a lib, i.e. ibOne.a

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Sta. Eugènia de Berga (Vic - Barcelona - Spain)
    Posts
    869
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Linking

    Hi,

    Same error.
    Òscar Llarch i Galán

Similar Threads

  1. Static linking of Qt programs
    By divya balachandran in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th September 2008, 12:10
  2. Linking problems with QT4 under Windows
    By Ancalagon in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th September 2008, 13:29
  3. problem with order of libs during linking
    By minimax in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th January 2008, 10:32
  4. Linking myLib with myApp
    By vermarajeev in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20th February 2007, 13:51
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th February 2006, 09:11

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.