Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Problem regading Ethernet uning TCP/IP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    84
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Problem regading Ethernet uning TCP/IP

    Hi everybody ,I need a suggestion regarding Ethernet in QT. I need to communicate data from the Gui application which I have developed to an Hardware unit through Ethernet using TCP/IP protocol . I am new to this concept . Is there any libraries like QExtSerialPort to access the ethernet .
    please give your valuable suggestion regarding how to initiate and proceed in QT(Windows).
    So please help me to solve this peoblem .Thanks for your valuable help in advance.

    With Regards,
    Sudheer

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ukraine, Krivoy Rog
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanked 370 Times in 336 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem regading Ethernet uning TCP/IP

    did you read about QTcpSocket?
    Qt Assistant -- rocks!
    please, use tags [CODE] & [/CODE].

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    84
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem regading Ethernet uning TCP/IP

    Hi Spirit ,
    Thanks for your quick and kind reply.I read about QTcpSocket class .But one thing I have to know is how can I access the Ethernet and communicate on Ethernet.Is it possible to do by using QTcpSocket class.
    So please suggest me to clear the confusion.

    With Regards,
    Sudheer

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ukraine, Krivoy Rog
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanked 370 Times in 336 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem regading Ethernet uning TCP/IP

    I dont understand what do you need: if you need to communicate with remote computer then yes, QTcspSockect will help you, if you need to work with hardware, i.e. with ethernet card then you need to use platform specific functions.
    Qt Assistant -- rocks!
    please, use tags [CODE] & [/CODE].

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    84
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Problem regading Ethernet uning TCP/IP

    Thanks for your suggestion.


    With Regards
    Sudheer,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Problem regading Ethernet uning TCP/IP

    ... unit through Ethernet using TCP/IP protocol ...
    Ethernet and TCP are on different layers in ISO/OSI stack. So if you use Ethernet devices in your network connection, it doesn't matter if it's TCP, UDP etc. - it's all send with Ethernet in lower layer. For example: when I'm opening a web page in my browser, it's also accessing that server through the Ethernet for example in my LAN. So if you want to communicate with your device with TCP/IP and through Ethernet devices, don't worry about Ethernet - just use QTcpSocket.

    P.S. That might be helpful: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OSI_mod..._of_OSI_layers
    Last edited by faldzip; 9th March 2009 at 18:34.
    I would like to be a "Guru"

    Useful hints (try them before asking):
    1. Use Qt Assistant
    2. Search the forum

    If you haven't found solution yet then create new topic with smart question.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.