Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: portability in windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    5

    Default portability in windows

    Hi I have some programm, which is written in windows XP sp3 and I want to make portability of my programm, but I dont know how do it. Which libraries, pictures of icons (too?) I have to add to my exe file? I use svg files, bitmap images,
    Thanks for each answer

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: portability in windows

    Quote Originally Posted by Noxxik View Post
    Hi I have some programm, which is written in windows XP sp3
    Since when WinXp is a programming language?

    and I want to make portability of my programm, but I dont know how do it. Which libraries, pictures of icons (too?) I have to add to my exe file? I use svg files, bitmap images,
    Thanks for each answer
    Sorry, I don't get your question quite right, but for deploying an application have a look here
    .

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    5

    Default Re: portability in windows

    sorry programm is written in C++ with toolkit Qt 4.4.1
    I wrote code in windows.


    One more question. which differences are between compiling in windows and linux?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: portability in windows

    Quote Originally Posted by Noxxik View Post
    One more question. which differences are between compiling in windows and linux?
    There are two differences:
    1. Under Windows you have a console with a black background whereas under Linux you can configure colours of the terminal
    2. Under Linux you get an ELF binary, whereas under Windows you don't

    And seriously, there are no differences apart the fact you are using a different compiler. The deployment is a bit different but experience shows it is easier in Linux than in Windows so if you get it right here, it will be easier there.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh,PA,USA
    Posts
    48
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: portability in windows

    Although I am still new with Qt, my qt applications work just as well in 64 bit linux as they do in 32 bit windows. There were a few minor changes (standards compliance with my own template classes) needed to get stuff to compile under gcc-4.3 versus visual studio but this was minor.
    John

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    5

    Default Re: portability in windows

    thanks for answers
    I think, that you give me advice, which dll library I have to add to folder, where I have exe file

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    2,467
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 334 Times in 317 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: portability in windows

    You can use the dependacy walker to see what dlls the applications needs.

    Or you can run the exe, and it will show error of missing dll, copy that dll, till u dont get any error and your exe runs

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    5

    Default Re: portability in windows

    Quote Originally Posted by aamer4yu View Post
    You can use the dependacy walker to see what dlls the applications needs.

    Or you can run the exe, and it will show error of missing dll, copy that dll, till u dont get any error and your exe runs
    I think that I do it as you write, but I dont know, if there are differences between for example Windows Vista Home Basic or Windows XP sp1, etc. ...

Similar Threads

  1. Qt Jambi, deploying app on Mac & Windows fails
    By ChrisColon in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th February 2009, 22:05
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th January 2009, 09:03
  3. Opening text file fails after autostartup on windows
    By yogourta in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th October 2008, 03:52
  4. Windows not appearing in XP.
    By beardybloke in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24th October 2007, 17:32
  5. converting unix exe to windows binary
    By deekayt in forum General Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th September 2006, 01:00

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.