Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: FYI be careful with using dead code strip on OS X

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    5

    Default FYI be careful with using dead code strip on OS X

    As documented here:
    http://doc.qt.nokia.com/4.6/deployment-mac.html

    Mac OS X has a library called dead_strip that strips unused code to reduce executable size while compiling.

    I followed the instructions in the QT documentation and included it in my libraries, and everything seemed to work fine for a while.

    Then one day my code just stopped running, and would crash every time QT tried to do anything with its GUI, be it calling show() on the main window, or as simple as popping up a MessageDialog. The crash would be some variety of memory access violation or segfault.

    I wasted a whole day debugging this problem basically before discovering that removing the dead code stripping made everything fine again.

    Quite strange really, but if you choose to include the dead code stripping library, I'd suggest being very conscious of this lest you end up in the same situation I was.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,938
    Thanked 268 Times in 268 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    20

    Default Re: FYI be careful with using dead code strip on OS X

    It's strange that you need to include a library to strip the binary.
    On unix systems you can just use the strip command. Or does this not work on Apple computers?

Similar Threads

  1. signal to dead object
    By drhex in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th August 2009, 23:11
  2. Help! Program dead when changing input methed
    By vencent in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24th April 2008, 11:55
  3. Pasting code from code tag in emacs
    By Gopala Krishna in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th February 2007, 05:47
  4. Handling of dead keys in keyPressEvent()
    By ghorwin in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd December 2006, 12:26
  5. use of VC++ code in Qt
    By shailesh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th April 2006, 11:11

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.