Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: efficiency

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary
    Posts
    125
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default efficiency

    Hi all,

    My question is if using qt makes any differences in the efficiency of the c++ code parts not related to QT-system.

    Like if I create a gui application with Qt, but the input is sent to normal c++ classes wich does not use any Qt classes, than does the fact that it was compiled ect. by Qt's stuffs has any efffec on the normal class's job? (time, memory, anything)
    Szilvi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: efficiency

    Quote Originally Posted by szisziszilvi View Post
    My question is if using qt makes any differences in the efficiency of the c++ code parts not related to QT-system.
    No.

    Like if I create a gui application with Qt, but the input is sent to normal c++ classes wich does not use any Qt classes, than does the fact that it was compiled ect. by Qt's stuffs has any efffec on the normal class's job? (time, memory, anything)
    Nothing is compiled by "Qt's stuff". It's compiled by a C++ compiler.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    szisziszilvi (6th January 2011)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: efficiency

    Quote Originally Posted by szisziszilvi View Post
    Hi all,

    My question is if using qt makes any differences in the efficiency of the c++ code parts not related to QT-system.

    Like if I create a gui application with Qt, but the input is sent to normal c++ classes wich does not use any Qt classes, than does the fact that it was compiled ect. by Qt's stuffs has any efffec on the normal class's job? (time, memory, anything)
    No. The MOC won't moc-up your stuff unless you tell it to by using the 'Q_OBJECT' macro. All of your normal classes will remain unscathed and will be compiled normally.
    This rude guy who doesn't want you to answer his questions.

    Note: An "expert" here is just someone that's posted a lot.

    "The fact of where you do the encapsulation is meaningless." - Qt Certified Developer and forum moderator

  5. The following user says thank you to nroberts for this useful post:

    szisziszilvi (6th January 2011)

Similar Threads

  1. Compiling and efficiency problems
    By aarelovich in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2nd October 2009, 16:38
  2. Efficiency Question
    By winston2020 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th January 2009, 20:02
  3. The efficiency of QtAlgorithm
    By calmspeaker in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th September 2008, 06:52
  4. Efficiency is the name of the game
    By baray98 in forum General Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19th September 2007, 20:03
  5. Removing items from QPtrList efficiency issues
    By kalos80 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th April 2007, 12:04

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.