Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Compiling?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Compiling?

    Hi, I'm using Qt 4.2 trial... to complete an assignment.. but I have no clue how to use Qt at all so I'm trying to look at examples on the internete some which are source code... I don't know how to compile this source code from Qt itself, there's only the Qt designer, Qt assistant and the Qt linguist.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling?

    You need MinGW or M$ compiler (depending on the Qt version you have).

    If you have one installed, open command prompt (there's a link in start menu called "Qt 4.2.x command prompt" or similar), go to the directory where the source code is, run "qmake" and then "make" (or "nmake"). If there is no .pro file with the sources, you will have to run "qmake -project" before "qmake".

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling?

    A free version is available from M$ of 2005 express if you wish to use a MS IDE.

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/express/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Compiling?

    I did as you told me but... I'm still getting errors... aghhh how can I get this to run... ;\

    Setting up a Qt environment...
    -- QTDIR set to C:\Qt\4.2.0
    -- Added C:\Qt\4.2.0\bin to PATH
    -- QMAKESPEC set to win32-msvc2005
    Setting environment for using Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 x86 tools.
    C:\Qt\4.2.0>cd C:\Qt\4.2.0\examples\tutorial\t1

    C:\Qt\4.2.0\examples\tutorial\t1>qmake -project

    C:\Qt\4.2.0\examples\tutorial\t1>qmake

    C:\Qt\4.2.0\examples\tutorial\t1>make
    'make' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Qt\4.2.0\examples\tutorial\t1>nmake

    Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 8.00.50727.42
    Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\BIN\nmake.exe" -f Makefil
    e.Release

    Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 8.00.50727.42
    Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    cl -c -nologo -Zm200 -Zc:wchar_t- -O2 -MD -O2 -MD -GR -EHsc -W3 -w34100
    -w34189 -DUNICODE -DWIN32 -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -DQT_EVAL -DQT_EDITION=QT_EDITI
    ON_DESKTOP -DQT_DLL -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT
    -I"C:/Qt/4.2.0/include/QtCore" -I"C:/Qt/4.2.0/include/QtCore" -I"C:/Qt/4.2.0/in
    clude/QtGui" -I"C:/Qt/4.2.0/include/QtGui" -I"C:/Qt/4.2.0/include" -I"." -I"C:/Q
    t/4.2.0/include/ActiveQt" -I"tmp\moc\release_shared" -I"." -I"..\..\..\mkspecs\w
    in32-msvc2005" -Fotmp\obj\release_shared\ @C:\DOCUME~1\PHILLI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\nm
    7F.tmp
    main.cpp
    link /LIBPATH:"c:\Qt\4.2.0\lib" /LIBPATH:"c:\Qt\4.2.0\lib" /NOLOGO /INCR
    EMENTAL:NO /INCREMENTAL:NO /MANIFESTFILE:.\tmp\obj\release_shared\t1.exe.inter me
    diate.manifest /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS /OUT:release\t1.exe @C:\DOCUME~1\PHILLI~1\LOCA
    LS~1\Temp\nm80.tmp
    LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'uuid.lib'
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\BIN\l
    ink.EXE"' : return code '0x450'
    Stop.
    NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\BIN\n
    make.exe"' : return code '0x2'
    Stop.

    C:\Qt\4.2.0\examples\tutorial\t1>

    I've also found a batch file along in the example t1.. but I can't get it to run, it displays a message of "This application has failed to start because QtGui4.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling?

    Quote Originally Posted by Afflicted.d2 View Post
    LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'uuid.lib'
    It looks like m$ linker can't find "uuid.lib" library. Do you have such file on your system?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Compiling?

    I did a search. can't find such file, what should I do then ? =\

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling?

    Quote Originally Posted by Afflicted.d2 View Post
    I did a search. can't find such file, what should I do then ? =\
    I guess you need something called "platform SDK" from m$.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    46
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Compiling?

    Quote Originally Posted by Afflicted.d2 View Post
    I did a search. can't find such file, what should I do then ? =\
    Did you install the SDK? and have you done this:

    When using VisualStudio 2005 Express, make sure that you have installed MS Platform SDK and that
    the environment variables are set correct. Maybe you have to modify
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8 Express\Common7\Tools\vsvars.bat
    and add the paths to your Platform SDK installation:
    change
    @set INCLUDE=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\INCLUDE;%INCLUDE%
    to
    @set INCLUDE=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\Include;C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\INCLUDE;%INCLUDE%

    and
    @set LIB=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\LIB;C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\SDK\v2.0\lib;%LIB%
    to
    @set LIB=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK\LIB;C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\LIB;C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\SDK\v2.0\lib;%LIB%
    That is from the patch readme.txt.


    With a default install of express 2005 and SDK you should be able to get by with just replacing this portion:
    @set PATH=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\Common7\IDE;C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\BIN;C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\Common7\Tools;C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\SDK\v2.0\bin;C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\ v2.0.50727;C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\VCPackages;%PATH%
    @set INCLUDE=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\INCLUDE;%INCLUDE%;C:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK for Windows Server 2003 R2\Include\
    @set LIB=C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\LIB;C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\SDK\v2.0\lib;%LIB%;C:\Program Files\Microsoft Platform SDK for Windows Server 2003 R2\Lib\
    @set LIBPATH=C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50 727
    Last edited by merlvingian; 16th October 2006 at 19:39. Reason: Directory change, readability

Similar Threads

  1. Compiling Qtopia-Example failed
    By danielkr in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th October 2006, 22:42
  2. Compiling custom Qt3 Widgets Gives warning in VC++6 Compiler
    By sunil.thaha in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th June 2006, 12:44
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28th April 2006, 15:48
  4. qmake_image_collection.cpp gives me a compiling error
    By vfernandez in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st January 2006, 01:42
  5. compiling a qt project under win32
    By elcuco in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th January 2006, 07:43

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.