Thread: QDockWidget

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Question QDockWidget

I am having problems trying to use QDockWidgets. This is my first time using these and they do not behave how I would plan for them to behave. I initially put them all on the right side, 4 in total, but allow them to all be moved to any of the 4 dock locations or to be floated. One thing I dislike about them is that when I move on the dock widgets to another dock area, the widgets resize stretching their items apart from each other. So I set the Horizontal and Vertical size policies to FIXED.

After setting the size policies to FIXED, I am only able to move on dock widget to a dock area after creation. If I move one widget from the right to the left, I cannot add another widget to the left or move this widget back to the right. If I take of the FIXED size, I can move 3/4 the widgets to the left side with no problem, but not the 4th widget. Is there a reason why I can only move one widget to a side when the sizes are fixed and only move 3/4 widgets to a side when the sizes aren't fixed? Thanks again for your help!

Thanks
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

Default Re: QDockWidget

A descriptive screenshot would certainly help us to understand the problem..
    J-P Nurmi

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

Unfortunately I will not be able to get you a screen shot. I have been able to get all 4 dock widgets from one side to the other, though it was not an easy task. It was very picky about that. So I guess what I would like to know if there is a way to keep the dock widgets from growing too tall vertically (preferably FIXED although I cannot get it to work) and still be able to move more than 1 dock widget to the same new location. I will see if I can get a small code snippet to prove my point.