Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Using pthreads for a front end

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    2

    Default Using pthreads for a front end

    Hi all,

    I'm designing a GUI front end for a multi threaded linux application. I don't have much sway on the application itself. The threading is implemented with pthreads.

    I had some questions on how I should proceed.

    * Can I continue to only use pthreads? The GUI only needs to run member functions which launch threads.

    * I read that the GUI app needs to be launched from the 'main' thread... does this only apply if I'm using qthreads? Can I have one thread dedicated to the GUI and that's it? Currently the GUI doesn't do much outside of linking buttons to functions.

    TiA,

    -KF

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Rennes, France
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Using pthreads for a front end

    Hi.
    Normaly you can use pthread with Qt as long as you don't use a QOBject. But the main thread should be use to run GUI.

    And if you use pthread, you lost the Qt signal/slot between thread.
    Contributor from the French Qt community from developpez.com
    * Forum
    * FAQ Qt ( > 100 QR)
    * Advanced and Beginner Tutorials

Similar Threads

  1. Bring application window to front
    By St@n in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 5th July 2019, 01:55
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th April 2009, 14:55
  3. move parent window to the front.
    By hvengel in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd February 2007, 08:41
  4. CMake and pthreads
    By Matt Smith in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd September 2006, 20:42
  5. How to bring a dialogbox to the front?
    By bood in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd August 2006, 15:04

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.