Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Exclamation Says I am missing a .dll file that is there

    I just installed QT4 and i read this tutorial for a hello world program. When i compile it it say I do not have the QTCore4.dll file so the .exe file cannot run. I then looked in the QT folder and i found QTCore4.dll in the bin folder. Here is my code if it matters.
    Qt Code:
    1. #include <QApplication>
    2. #include <QPushButton>
    3.  
    4. int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    5. {
    6. QApplication app(argc,argv);
    7.  
    8. QPushButton test("I am testing my first GUI application");
    9. test.show();
    10.  
    11. return app.exec();
    12. }
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    I am also using the Code::Blocks IDE with the MinGW compiler. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there

    Is the directory containing the DLL in your PATH ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there

    I don't know, how do i check?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there

    Start->Run, type "cmd", hit enter. When block box appears, type "echo %PATH%" and press enter.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there

    ok it says, "C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\W indows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v.1.0\;C:\Progra m Files\Quicktime\QTSystem
    Last edited by bijan311; 27th February 2010 at 22:49.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there

    Quote Originally Posted by bijan311 View Post
    ok it says, "C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\W indows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v.1.0\;C:\Progra m Files\Quicktime\QTSystem
    try running your app from the Qt Command Prompt which sets up the required environment variables and path for you.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there

    Ok when I did that it said "The procedure entry point _ZN7QString16fromAscii_helperEPKci could not be located in the dynamic link library QtCore4.dll"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there

    Please start a Qt command prompt and show us what is printed to the console.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there


    Is this what you are talking about?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there

    now I'd like to see the entire path from this command prompt - just type 'path'. Also cd into the folder where your app is and run it. If you can show all this in a screenshot like you did.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there


    Here it is.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there

    Quote Originally Posted by bijan311 View Post

    Here it is.
    looking at your code... where did you get this example?

    It seems like a console app but you are trying to use widgets. Can you show how you build this exe and all the files that are part of it?
    Last edited by schnitzel; 28th February 2010 at 05:30.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Says I am missing a .dll file that is there

    Your program is using the wrong DLL - it's using the one in c:\qt\4.6.2\bin rather than the one in c:\qt\4.6.2\qt\bin

    The problem is that QtCreator requires the DLL in bin whilst your program requires the DLL in qt\bin.

    One way of solving the problem would be to copy the QtCore4 and QtGUI4 DLLs from c:\qt\4.6.2\qt\bin to the directory where your executable is (The 'release' dir)

Similar Threads

  1. Missing file errors when Rebuilding example projects
    By Thomas Wrobel in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th January 2010, 12:13
  2. KDE shared object file is missing
    By SimbadSubZero in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th December 2009, 14:43
  3. build fails: krb5.h include file missing
    By paulocarvalho_br_2009 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24th May 2009, 16:13
  4. libQtGui_debug.so.4 missing
    By fwohlfert in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th October 2006, 19:07
  5. Missing slots
    By Mariane in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th February 2006, 01:50

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.