Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Symbian S60

    Default Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    hi ,

    i'm using Qt creator version 2.0 , based on Qt 4.7.0 (64 bit) , on mac os x ..

    every time i try to run a program or build it , i get this message :

    Qt Code:
    1. Could not find make command: make in the build environment
    2. Error while building project qmusicplayer (target: Desktop)
    3. When executing build step 'Make'
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    and every time i try to run qmake , i get this message :

    Qt Code:
    1. Starting /Developer/Examples/Qt/phonon/qmusicplayer-build-desktop/qmusicplayer.app/Contents/MacOS/qmusicplayer...
    2. Failed to start program. Path or permissions wrong?
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    i did reinstall Qt , but the problem still there ! ..

    any helpful ideas will be appreciated ..

    thanks in advance ..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    Is your PATH variable setup correctly? Check your PATH. Make should be listed. If not, then you need to add it.

    Here's a similar thread: http://www.qtcentre.org/threads/3115...d-make-command

  3. The following user says thank you to spark for this useful post:

    ProFesOr-xP (10th July 2010)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    thank you for your post ..

    actually make is not there ! ..

    i added it , but maybe i did that the wrong way ! ..

    because it's not working till now ..

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    here is a capture from my build settings :



    why is that ?

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    I had the same issue. When you add it to the PATH, make sure you're adding it in the proper place... I am a "recovering" windows user myself. It's mind boggling. You can add it in Terminal, but it only sticks for that Terminal session. You will ultimately need to add the variable to your .profile. This article may cover that in too much depth (or with too many words):

    OS X: Change your PATH environment varialbe

    Note: You may need to "reboot" to get your changes to take effect. Or restart Qt Creator. Or stand on your head and chant incantations...

  7. The following user says thank you to spark for this useful post:

    ProFesOr-xP (12th July 2010)

  8. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    PS: You may already know this, but I didn't... at the time...

    .profile is in your "~" directory. Terminal should open in that directory, but it may not... for sanity's sake:

    > ch ~

    Display the files. -a shows all of them:

    > ls -a

    There should be a .profile. If there is not a .profile, I think you can get away with making one...

    > open .profile

    open should open the file in a relevant editor.

    Truth be told, make is not explicitly listed in my PATH variable, either... but I think the directory(ies) it lives in are... Huh.

  9. The following user says thank you to spark for this useful post:

    ProFesOr-xP (12th July 2010)

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    thanks for your useful posts ..

    i did list the files using :

    ls -a

    and i saw that the .profile file is not there ..

    i created it using :

    touch .profile

    now i'm able to edit it , since it is there ..

    as stated in this link :

    i add the following 2 lines to .profile file :

    PATH=/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/bin:$PATH
    export PATH

    i think i did it all , but that lovely message about make is there .. ..

    thanks again ..

  11. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    What is listed under "Build Environment" in your Projects settings for PATH?

    All that work and I think I remember how I set the PATH variable after all. You can expand the "Build Environment" in Qt Creator and add your path there. Oi. I need to take better notes. I need to START taking notes.

    The only downside to setting the PATH in Qt Creator and not globally for the system is that only Qt Creator will be aware of the change. If you decide to go use something like Xcode or Eclipse, you'll be back to the same problem---those editors also have ways to set PATH in them, though (at least Xcode does). So, ultimately, setting the PATH globally is probably the best solution to avoid future confusion. This is assuming that you can get it to work...

    Unrelated: Apple has fairly decent documentation on OS X built into finder. I always forget to search the help that comes with the system when I encounter issues and immediately jump on Google.com and start hammering away... which is a sad sight because I have no search mojo.

  12. The following user says thank you to spark for this useful post:

    ProFesOr-xP (12th July 2010)

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    Quote Originally Posted by spark View Post
    What is listed under "Build Environment" in your Projects settings for PATH?
    /Developer/Tools/Qt:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin

    this is what listed there for PATH ..

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    ^

    guys , is that correct ?

  15. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Algarve, Portugal
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 32 Times in 28 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    I had the same problem whem I installed Qt on Mac (if memory doenst fail me I think it was that same error). But after I install the IPhone SDK, Qt programs started to compile and run fine. I dont know why, but it solve it.
    __________________________________________________
    My projects: calculator MathGraphica ; SuperEpicMegaHero game ; GooglePlay ; bitbucket ; github
    Like my projects ? Buy me a kofi

  16. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    Hi ,

    I have too this problem, but can't solved for the moment i have make my ".profile" with "/Developer/Tools/Qt", but same error "Failed to start program. Path or permissions wrong?"

    I search solution since lot of months...

    Best regards

  17. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    Sorry for up,

    I have install xcode, and have the same problem "Failed to start program. Path or permissions wrong?"...

    Really no solution ? Does have to change compilation configuration or somethingelse ?

    Best regards.

  18. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    Hey dear Friend
    I had the same problem and when I installed Xcode the problem was solved ... I think it's because you don't have gcc compiler on you computer and Qt needs gcc compiler to build its files and projects
    Last edited by Navid.Azami; 13th June 2011 at 05:49. Reason: Typo

  19. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt on mac ( Could not find make command ) problem ..

    That's very simple.

    At the left pane of Qt Creator Environment, click "Projects", then on "Build Directories type the correct path for your shadow builds.

    "Warning: QMake doesn't support build paths under the source directory"

    The build path you choose should be outside the source directory.

    If this option is enabled (checked), It wil be written on your .pro.User auto-generated file.

    Hope this helps

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 20th October 2012, 13:44
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th March 2011, 16:42
  3. Could not find make command
    By mnz in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th May 2010, 07:33
  4. Attemping to use Qt 4.6 breaks make command
    By ajoffe in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th December 2009, 21:44
  5. Cant find make command: mingw32-make.exe
    By Nadia in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th August 2009, 09:09

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.