Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: How to make the quick application executable in windows?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default How to make the quick application executable in windows?

    Hello guys,Would you please tell me How can I make a working .exe program with Qt Quick.
    I’m using Qt5 with Visual studio 2010,in windows 7(64bit) So which project should I choose (Qt quick 2 application or Qt quick2 UI or what?) and what are the steps should I follow.
    -I only want to run the hello world example from the exe.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to make the quick application executable in windows?

    Qt Quick 2 Application. The wizard will set up all necessary code for you.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    Baso (3rd February 2013)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How to make the quick application executable in windows?

    Yes I tried Qt quick 2 application, and I configured the project build setting to release, and I put the *.dll files that the *.exe file asked for in the same folder with the *.exe file, but when I run the *.exe file It doesn't show any thing not even error or any thing
    Help please

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to make the quick application executable in windows?

    Did you put the qml files there as well? Can your program find them?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  6. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    Baso (3rd February 2013)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How to make the quick application executable in windows?

    If you mean putting the main.qml file of the project in the same folder with *.exe file, I did it and it didn't do any different

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to make the quick application executable in windows?

    I don't know where it should be put. It depends on your application. See if your app starts at all and see if it can find the files it needs. Did you remember to deploy the QtQtuick2 plugin as well? And possibly other plugins your code depends on?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  9. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    Baso (3rd February 2013)

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How to make the quick application executable in windows?

    LOOk, I will tell you what exactly I do
    I choose Qt quick 2 application, then give it a name and directory to save,then I go to projects from the left->build setting-edit build configuration and I choose release, then I just run the application from The Qt creator, it runs very well it shows my the hello world window and then I click it and it is closed.
    I go to where I saved the project, I find two folders one for the project and the other for the build, I open the one for the build and inside it I open the folder release, hence I find the *.exe file, If I run it, it asks for some dlls, I go to Qt directory in C portion I make a search for the dlls or simply open the bin folder and get the required dlls, I copy the dlls and paste them in the same release folder where the *.exe file lies,then I run the *.exe file and it doesn't show anything no error no file required nothing at all.
    Then I got the *qml file form the build foldre -> qml folder and copy it in the same release folder with the *.exe, and run and also nothing happen.

    I'm sorry for all of that writhing, but I want to show you exactly what I do, cause I really stuck here, and can't do anything from 2 days
    Thank you

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to make the quick application executable in windows?

    Quote Originally Posted by Baso View Post
    Then I got the *qml file form the build foldre -> qml folder and copy it in the same release folder with the *.exe,
    That's probably wrong. Your application probably expects the file to be in the "qml" folder if it was initially there.

    and run and also nothing happen.
    There is a difference between "nothing happens" and "I can't see my QML UI". If "nothing happens" then the app doesn't start which is probably caused by missing dlls. If "I can't see my QML UI" then the process runs (the mandatory DLLs are present) but can't display your UI (missing QML file, missing plugins). You need to teach your app to report its state if you're unable or unwilling to use external tools to verify what is wrong.

    For QtQuick apps to work, you need at least the following:
    1. Qt dlls (QtCore, QtGui, QtQuick are the bare minimum)
    2. their dependencies and compiler runtime
    3. your application resources (qml files, images, etc.)
    4. plugins for QML that your app relies on (probably at least "qml/QtQuick.2/*", possibly others)
    5. Qt dlls those plugins rely on and Qt plugins your resources rely on (e.g. imageformats plugins)
    6. your application executable

    If unsure, perform dynamic (runtime) inspection of your program using the dependency walker. It will tell you which libraries are used by your app. Then you have to make sure all of them are inplace when you deploy your app.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  12. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    Baso (3rd February 2013)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th November 2011, 16:56
  2. Problem deploying a two library + executable application to windows
    By joseprl89 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15th March 2011, 20:52
  3. How to make my Qt project executable
    By mebingj in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th March 2011, 13:23
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th November 2009, 09:27
  5. How to make MAC version of Windows QT application
    By qtUser500 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th October 2009, 14:27

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.