Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: thomson reuters DDE Links and QT

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default thomson reuters DDE Links and QT

    Thompson Reuters has a product call Eikon and it allows U 2 query their servers using a DDE link into excel. I am pondering how 2 interface this DDE engine and use QT and by-pass-excel
    Any Thoughts on this. I do not want 2 reinvent lots of excel functions I already have. I just want those same functions to work in QT




    http://financial.thomsonreuters.com/...7EgRoCsqXw_wcB

    https://customers.reuters.com/developer/
    oPen source
    http://thomsonreuters.com/en/press-r...-data-api.html
    Last edited by Keltner; 24th March 2016 at 05:10.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,230
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: thomson reuters DDE Links and QT

    Perhaps the reason no one has answered is that you need to sign up for a Thomson Reuters developer account before you can view any of the API information, and signups are closed to all except those who have been "invited". Hardly what I would consider "open source".

    Anyway, it appears that they have an SDK and API that might implement multiple ways to get at their data, only one of which could be DDE. You'll have to use your "invitation" to investigate on your own.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: thomson reuters DDE Links and QT

    You can use DDE in your C++ program by resorting to the native Windows API ( https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx ). Intercept the Windows message loop using the QCoreApplication::winEventFilter() to drive the DDE code.

    Using a COM interface, if one is available, would be far easier than DDE; you could use ActiveQt in that case.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: thomson reuters DDE Links and QT

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisW67 View Post
    You can use DDE in your C++ program by resorting to the native Windows API ( https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx ). Intercept the Windows message loop using the QCoreApplication::winEventFilter() to drive the DDE code.

    Using a COM interface, if one is available, would be far easier than DDE; you could use ActiveQt in that case.
    Sweet ! TThanks for the help. Thanks for the comment

    Quote Originally Posted by d_stranz View Post
    Perhaps the reason no one has answered is that you need to sign up for a Thomson Reuters developer account before you can view any of the API information, and signups are closed to all except those who have been "invited". Hardly what I would consider "open source".

    Anyway, it appears that they have an SDK and API that might implement multiple ways to get at their data, only one of which could be DDE. You'll have to use your "invitation" to investigate on your own.
    They have so many APIs I can not keep them all straight. thanks for the comment

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    1
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: thomson reuters DDE Links and QT

    Quote Originally Posted by Keltner View Post
    Thompson Reuters has a product call Eikon and it allows U 2 query their servers using a DDE link into excel. I am pondering how 2 interface this DDE engine and use QT and by-pass-excel
    Any Thoughts on this. I do not want 2 reinvent lots of excel functions I already have. I just want those same functions to work in QT




    http://financial.thomsonreuters.com/...7EgRoCsqXw_wcB

    https://customers.reuters.com/developer/
    oPen source
    http://thomsonreuters.com/en/press-r...-data-api.html
    I am trying to do something similar and I can't find the DDE info (Server & Topic) for the Eikon app. If you have them, can you please let me know what they are?

    Thanks,
    Doru

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th November 2009, 16:43
  2. how can get all links with QT from a web page?
    By ChineseAlexander in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th April 2009, 06:41
  3. Need Links fot QT4.2.3
    By nirup in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th May 2007, 10:39

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.