Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Console in GUI Mode

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Console in GUI Mode

    Is posible to show the console window on a GUI App ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Console in GUI Mode

    No.
    You must run a shell with a QProcces and pass the user input and retrieve it's output.
    You must simulate the appearance of the console.

    Regards

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Edmonton, Canada
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Console in GUI Mode

    The way I understand your question, you're wanting to see a console window while running a GUI application. I assume this is for debugging purposes.

    If you add "CONFIG += console" to your .pro file, you should be able to see output to the console window.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    300
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Console in GUI Mode

    If it's just for debugging, I haven't found it necessary to add anything to the project file. Simply include <iostream> and open your application from the console.

    If it's for the release version, maybe you do have to alter your project file.
    "The strength of a civilization is not measured by its ability to wage wars, but rather by its ability to prevent them." - Gene Roddenberry

Similar Threads

  1. QMutex is not working in release mode
    By bitChanger in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th April 2007, 13:32
  2. Console replacement
    By aegis in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 3rd April 2007, 00:38
  3. qodbc driver not loaded error in release mode
    By mandal in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th November 2006, 09:42
  4. How to run a console program "silently"?
    By fullmetalcoder in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 23rd July 2006, 10:03
  5. Unable to execute in Debug Mode
    By Kapil in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 5th April 2006, 07:27

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.