Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: qt debug on ubuntu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default qt debug on ubuntu

    Hi,

    I have Ubuntu 7.04 and I have both the release and debug versions of qt4 installed. However, when I build my project, it seems to use the release version of qt4. How can I make it use the debug version so that I can debug inside qt?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    2,744
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 541 Times in 521 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qt debug on ubuntu

    When you say versions you mean two different installations?
    Because this is what I understand.

    In this case, set the QTDIR to point to the debug version.
    Also, make sure the PATH variable is not hardcoded, in the sense it should be:
    PATH=$QTDIR/bin;$PATH;

    Regards

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: qt debug on ubuntu

    If you want to build an app with debugging information, type:
    qmake -config debug
    and rebuild the app.
    J-P Nurmi

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: qt debug on ubuntu

    marcel,
    Ubuntu 7.04 contains (binary) packages of Qt4 for both debug and release. The release package (e.g. of Qt4 core) is called "libqt4-core" and the debug package is called "libqt4-debug". Both install the libraries in the same location "/usr/lib", but the release package contains libraries with names like "libQtCore.so.4.2.3" whereas the debug version contains libraries with names like "libQtCore.so.4.2.3.debug". Btw QTDIR isn't defined at all, but I don't think it (or PATH) could help me in this case because the directories are the same...

    jpn,
    I already use that option but it seems to only make it compile my own code with debugging information, rather than use the debug version of qt4.

    Any ideas?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qt debug on ubuntu

    I'm having the same problem as yaron. Can anyone help?

    Thanks!
    -d

Similar Threads

  1. Qt4 open src mingw from a PC to another
    By nvictor in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 1st May 2007, 17:41
  2. How to debug with dbg in this case?
    By vql in forum Newbie
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 2nd April 2007, 16:52
  3. Adding custom defines when on debug build
    By chus in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd March 2007, 11:38
  4. Unable to execute in Debug Mode
    By Kapil in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 5th April 2006, 07:27
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd March 2006, 19:06

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.