Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: QGLFrameBUfferObject with parent window

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default QGLFrameBUfferObject with parent window

    I have been trying to set up a frame buffer object using the QGLFramebufferObject.
    I thought that i was doing something wrong all the time and was trying various things cause i thought that my code was wrong...
    In my project i have QMainWindow and a QGLWidget as a central widget...
    By debugging i found that wthe problem was when i was trying to bind the FBo ( fb0->bind() )

    After some searching i found that this happens only when i use the widget inside the qmainwindow...
    So if the widget does not have a parent everything is ok as it seems.

    The examples that qt provides for qglframebufferobject dont have a parent and everything works ok. Just to prove to myself that i was still sane :P i added those widgets to a qmainwindow and the bind() failed as expected..

    I really dont have any idea on how to sort this so i would be more than grateful if someone could provide help !

    Thank you in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: QGLFrameBUfferObject with parent window

    It's a long shot but have you tried disabling "Aliens" by setting the UseNativeWindow flag on the top-level window?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QGLFrameBUfferObject with parent window

    Could you please explain a bit more what do you mean by Aliens so i know what you are talking about?

    I think i understand what you said about using native window even though i dont know how this can be done. I guess i am kinda new to Qt so any help would be more than welcome. Any qt documentation to find info about what you mentionned would be great !

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: QGLFrameBUfferObject with parent window

    Quote Originally Posted by xerionn View Post
    Could you please explain a bit more what do you mean by Aliens so i know what you are talking about?
    Type in "Aliens+Qt" into some search engine.

    I think i understand what you said about using native window even though i dont know how this can be done. I guess i am kinda new to Qt so any help would be more than welcome. Any qt documentation to find info about what you mentionned would be great !
    Type in NativeWindows into Assistant.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QGLFrameBUfferObject with parent window

    Hey again ! I hope everyone relaxed a little bit these days and had a nice NYE with family and friends !

    Now back to my thingies :P
    I tried to set my app to use NativeWindows but nothing changed.
    I also found this post saying some things about disabling the aliens.
    http://labs.trolltech.com/blogs/2007...-here-to-stay/

    Same behaviour as before.If i call directly the GLWidget and show() it everyone works like a charm but i only get my widget and not my mainwindow,status bar,menu bar,dock widgets etc ...

    Any other idea ?
    Last edited by xerionn; 5th January 2009 at 06:15.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: QGLFrameBUfferObject with parent window

    Seems like there is a bug. Its accepted by Qt as they could reproduce it with the code that i provided in some machines. Though as they said it may be card or driver related.

    Now there is an open bug http://trolltech.com/developer/task-...ntry&id=240383

    Thank you all for your responses
    Last edited by xerionn; 9th January 2009 at 04:39.

Similar Threads

  1. how QTextEdit transparent to his parent window?
    By wesley in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th September 2009, 07:23
  2. connecting child to parent window...
    By sumit in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th October 2008, 21:28
  3. How to close parent window from child window?
    By montylee in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th October 2008, 11:40
  4. Getting a parent window from a QT/Linux library
    By nicolas44 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 31st May 2007, 08:17
  5. move parent window to the front.
    By hvengel in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd February 2007, 08:41

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.