Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Eclipse gdb error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Berkeley California
    Posts
    109
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Eclipse gdb error

    I'm trying to set up the Eclipse development environment for Qt (mingw). I am able to sucessfully run the suggested Qt demo (Address Book) demo fine, but if I attempt to run it in debug mode I get Thread 1 suppended error: ' No source available for "ntdll!LdrAccessResource()" '. I sure wouldn't assume there would be sources for Microsoft OS code! I've done a (not totally thorough) search of the GDB doc and didn't find an obvious way to have GDB ignore objects without sources.

    I'm not sure if this is the right forum or community for this question but any suggestions or referrals would be greatly appreciated.

    Doug

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Berkeley California
    Posts
    109
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Eclipse gdb error

    More info: GDB does not exhibit this error when run from the command line and seems to work fine. I've searched the web a bunch but no joy. Setting auto-solib-add=off doesn't stop the problem.

    Actually, I think the problem is not the "No source available..." is not the problem, but trying to find out why the debugger suspends (before getting to main() ). When it suspends the debug window is as follows:

    AddressBook.exe [C/C++ Local Application]
    MinGW gdb Debugger (12/28/08 3:15PM)(Suspended)
    Thread[1](Suspended)
    6 ntdll!LdrAccessResurce() 0x7c90e4f4
    5 ntdll!ZwMapViewOfSection() 0x7c90d50c
    4 snwprintf() 0x7c91bd03
    3 ntdll!RtValidateUnicodeString() 0x7c91624a
    2 ntdll!LdrShutdownProcess() 0x7c9164b3
    1 <symbol is not available> 0x00000000
    C:\Data\Qt\MinGW\bin\gdb.exe (12/28/08 3:58PM)
    C:\Data\Qt\Eclipse\AddressBook\debug\AddressBook.e xe (12/28/08 3:58PM)

    This happens whether "Run to main()" is enabled or not.

    Thanks, Doug

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Berkeley California
    Posts
    109
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Eclipse gdb error

    Yet more info:

    If I keep clicking the green Run arrow once the debugger suspends as below, it keeps suspending with similar, but more, messages as shown below. After 4 times it finally makes it to main() and halts (as it should). In the variables window there are the following errors:

    typeinfo for QObject <mi_cmd_var_create: unable to create varaible object>
    typeinfo name for QObject <mi_cmd_var_create: unable to create varaible object>
    typeinfo for AddressBook <mi_cmd_var_create: unable to create varaible object>
    typeinfo name for AddressBook <mi_cmd_var_create: unable to create varaible object>
    typeinfo for QWidget <mi_cmd_var_create: unable to create varaible object>
    typeinfo name for QWidget <mi_cmd_var_create: unable to create varaible object>
    typeinfo for QPaintDevice <mi_cmd_var_create: unable to create varaible object>
    typeinfo name for QPaintDevice <mi_cmd_var_create: unable to create varaible object>

    Thanks, Doug

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Berkeley California
    Posts
    109
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Eclipse gdb error

    I'm amazed that no one else has run into this problem, I've gotten no responses from this forum nor eclipse.newcomer nor trolltech.q4-preview-feedback.

    I've installed on two different computers with same results, both XP Pro with the latest patches. One computer is gcc: 3.4.2, gdb: the precompiled for windows version 6.8.mingw-3, Qt: 4.2.3, Eclipse: 3.4.1 for C++, Qt Eclipse integration: 1.4.3

    The other computer is same except Qt: 4.4.1

    Help.
    Doug

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: Eclipse gdb error

    I have the same problem... Resuming debugger a lot of times before getting to main() wastes a lot of time during each debug session... OS: Vista.

Similar Threads

  1. nmake error during .pro compiling
    By mattia in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th June 2008, 10:15
  2. Compile 4.4.0
    By LordQt in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 29th May 2008, 13:43
  3. Error compiling psql plugin
    By vieraci in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 7th October 2007, 02:49
  4. KDE/QWT doubt on debian sarge
    By hildebrand in forum KDE Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 25th April 2007, 06:13
  5. qt 4.2.2 install on aix
    By try to remember in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th March 2007, 12:19

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.