Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Software Updater

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    196
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    1

    Default Software Updater

    Hey @all,

    I'm working on a software updater. The download and so on works fine. My Problem is to install the downloaded application from within the current/old application.
    As system i use mac, linux and windows but the higher priority is on windows.

    Can anybody give me a hint on how to do so?

    Thanks in advance

    Best Regards
    NoRulez

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    628
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 89 Times in 87 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Software Updater

    Run your installer.exe using QProcess.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    196
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    1

    Default Re: Software Updater

    The problem is that i can't replace the executeable and the dll's.

    Best Regards
    NoRulez

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    628
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 89 Times in 87 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Software Updater

    Quote Originally Posted by NoRulez View Post
    The problem is that i can't replace the executeable and the dll's.
    This is bit tricky, you have to use
    Qt Code:
    1. QProcess::startDetached();
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Call this function and immediately quits from your main process. Then the installer should take care of replacing the executable and dlls.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    196
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    1

    Default Re: Software Updater

    OK thanks, I will give it a try.

    Best Regards
    NoRulez

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th July 2008, 23:39

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.