Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: "Unable to read symbols" Problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded

    Default "Unable to read symbols" Problem

    I am using QT4.7.0 (with QtCreator) on OSX 10.6.5.

    I am getting the following errors when I debug:

    Unable to read symbols for QtSql.framework/Versions/4/QtSql (file not found).
    Unable to read symbols from "QtSql" (not yet mapped into memory).
    Unable to read symbols for QtGui.framework/Versions/4/QtGui (file not found).
    Unable to read symbols from "QtGui" (not yet mapped into memory).
    Unable to read symbols for QtNetwork.framework/Versions/4/QtNetwork (file not found).
    Unable to read symbols from "QtNetwork" (not yet mapped into memory).
    Unable to read symbols for QtCore.framework/Versions/4/QtCore (file not found).
    Unable to read symbols from "QtCore" (not yet mapped into memory).

    I have checked and these files are found in the /Library/Frameworks directory. I edited the /etc/paths directory and now my path looks like this:


    echo $PATH
    /usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/Users/trey/Bin:/Library/Frameworks:/usr/X11/bin


    So the PATH looks like it is pointing to the directory; what am I missing here? Is there another variable I need to modify?

    This is a raw install of QtCreator right from their site, add a single button to a form and then compile and debug. Is there a document that shows any extra steps for the mac?

    The directory looks like this:

    ============================
    $ ll /Library/Frameworks
    total 0
    drwxrwxr-x 6 root admin 204 Oct 12 02:03 NyxAudioAnalysis.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 Qt3Support.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtCore.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtDBus.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtDeclarative.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtDesigner.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 9 root admin 306 Dec 18 13:13 QtDesignerComponents.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 12 root admin 408 Dec 20 11:32 QtGui.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtHelp.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtMultimedia.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtNetwork.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtOpenGL.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtScript.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtScriptTools.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtSql.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtSvg.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtTest.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtWebKit.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtXml.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 QtXmlPatterns.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 6 root admin 204 Oct 12 02:03 iLifeFaceRecognition.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 6 root admin 204 Oct 12 02:01 iLifeKit.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 8 root admin 272 Oct 12 02:01 iLifePageLayout.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 6 root admin 204 Oct 12 02:01 iLifeSQLAccess.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 7 root admin 238 Dec 17 21:26 iLifeSlideshow.framework
    drwxrwxr-x 10 root admin 340 Dec 18 13:13 phonon.framework

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded

    Default Re: "Unable to read symbols" Problem

    Bounce?

    This happens when I run the file that was compiled under 'Debug' someone has to know what is going on.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: "Unable to read symbols" Problem

    Not being a Mac OS X user I cannot offer a concrete answer.

    If the problem only appears when you compile your application in debug mode then I would hazard a guess and say that the debug libraries are not installed or not being found. The SDK on Windows installs a set of release mode Qt libraries to operate Qt Creator and a completely separate set of release and debug Qt libraries that are used to develop against. Does this happen on OS X? If so, which set is in /Library/Frameworks and where might the other ones be?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    68
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt/Embedded

    Default Re: "Unable to read symbols" Problem

    One of the things that I don't understand is that the error is "Unable to read symbols for QtSql.framework/Versions/4/QtSql (file not found)." The file is found here "/Library/Frameworks/QtSql.framework/Versions/4/QtSql". So how does Qt Know to use the "/Library/Frameworks" directory as a prefix? I tried setting up the path, but that did not fix it. I also tried to add this line to the .pro file, but that did not fix it either. "LIBS += /Library/Frameworks".

    If I do a listing of that directory I get the following:

    ll /Library/Frameworks/QtSql.framework/Versions/4
    total 3216
    drwxrwxr-x 61 root admin 2074 Dec 20 15:07 Headers
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root admin 591088 Sep 10 12:19 QtSql
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root admin 1049632 Sep 10 11:54 QtSql_debug


    So you can see the file is there and a debug file is also found.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Windows

    Default Re: "Unable to read symbols" Problem

    Did you ever solve this? I'm having the exact same problem

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: "Unable to read symbols" Problem

    Was this ever solved? I have similar issue: When I run through debugger I get:
    Debugging starts
    Unable to read symbols for QtWebKit.framework/Versions/4/QtWebKit (file not found).
    Unable to read symbols from "QtWebKit" (not yet mapped into memory).
    Unable to read symbols for QtGui.framework/Versions/4/QtGui (file not found).
    Unable to read symbols from "QtGui" (not yet mapped into memory).
    Unable to read symbols for QtCore.framework/Versions/4/QtCore (file not found).
    Unable to read symbols from "QtCore" (not yet mapped into memory).


    QT Creator 2.6.0
    Based on Qt 4.8.3 (64 bit)
    OS X 10.8.2
    i7

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: "Unable to read symbols" Problem

    The debugger cannot read debugging symbols from the libraries because they are not built with debugging symbols; probably because they are release libraries.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: "Unable to read symbols" Problem

    Thanks Guru for your reply. I am new to QT and Mac. The libraries are at /Library/Frameworks ... The project was actually built in Windows and I am testing if it works on Mac. Do you have any solution/fix for this?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,241
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 127 Times in 126 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: "Unable to read symbols" Problem

    rebuild the libs with debug symbols included.
    If you have a problem, CUT and PASTE your code. Do not retype or simplify it. Give a COMPLETE and COMPILABLE example of your problem. Otherwise we are all guessing the problem from a fabrication where relevant details are often missing.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: "Unable to read symbols" Problem

    Thanks Amleto!

    As I mentioned before, I'm a newbie ... How can I "rebuild the libs with debug symbols included"? I've already completely rebuilt the project ...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,241
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 127 Times in 126 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: "Unable to read symbols" Problem

    rebuild Qt libs, not your project. The missing symbols are in qt binaries, not your application. There are tutorials online.
    If you have a problem, CUT and PASTE your code. Do not retype or simplify it. Give a COMPLETE and COMPILABLE example of your problem. Otherwise we are all guessing the problem from a fabrication where relevant details are often missing.

Similar Threads

  1. why "Unable to read image data"
    By zarelaky in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st December 2010, 00:47
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th May 2010, 09:55
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19th April 2009, 13:24
  4. Translation QFileDialog standart buttons ("Open"/"Save"/"Cancel")
    By victor.yacovlev in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24th January 2008, 19:05
  5. QFile Problem~ "Unknow error" in "open(QIODevice::ReadWrite)"
    By fengtian.we in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd May 2007, 15:58

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.