Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: QTcpSocket on Symbian (access point required)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    7

    Default QTcpSocket on Symbian (access point required)

    Hi to everybody,

    i've a client that use a QTcpSocket to connect itself to a QTcpServer.

    All is fine on Windows, but when i deploy the client on Symbian while the server running on Windows, the application require me to select an internet access point but i use this:

    client side
    Qt Code:
    1. connectToServer(QHostAddress(QHostAddress::LocalHost).toString(), 9876);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    server side
    Qt Code:
    1. server.listen(QHostAddress(QHostAddress::LocalHost), 9876)
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Can somebody help me?

    Many thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: QTcpSocket on Symbian (access point required)

    If the client and server run on different hosts then QHostAddress::LocalHost will not work -- it's an address that loops back to the same machine (google for "loopback" for more info). You need to give a proper address of the server to your client.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    dmartino (3rd June 2011)

Similar Threads

  1. required application access not granted
    By darlene in forum Newbie
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th May 2011, 07:07
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th April 2011, 09:26
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 1st December 2010, 11:28
  4. Select Access point And Connect internet for QNetwork S60
    By nhs_0702 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd June 2010, 03:10
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd December 2009, 14:23

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.