Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: announce: qmdilib 0.0.1

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    travelling
    Posts
    1,116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: announce: qmdilib 0.0.1

    I think that there is no reason for it not to work if your plugins make sure that its translations are installed in the translator object.
    And that is the problem! I can't do a translation for any language and any possible plugin... The problem is that qmdilib uses string to identify menus and modify them. If I want these menu to be tranlatable I put a tr() around their name, huh? but what happens if a plugin doesn't bring a translation in the same language (and the same translation for the menu or toolbar titlle)? Then two menu get created and that's very wrong!!! I'm thinking about using phrasebooks instead of regular .ts and .qm but I don't know how to load them properly in the translator... Plus I'm too lazy to create them "by hand" with Qt Linguist so I'll need to create another program : ts2qph to take existing data in a .ts file and create the appropriate .qch... Bunch of work, isn't it?
    Current Qt projects : QCodeEdit, RotiDeCode

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: announce: qmdilib 0.0.1

    Quote Originally Posted by fullmetalcoder
    And that is the problem! I can't do a translation for any language and any possible plugin... The problem is that qmdilib uses string to identify menus and modify them. If I want these menu to be tranlatable I put a tr() around their name, huh? but what happens if a plugin doesn't bring a translation in the same language (and the same translation for the menu or toolbar titlle)? Then two menu get created and that's very wrong!!! I'm thinking about using phrasebooks instead of regular .ts and .qm but I don't know how to load them properly in the translator... Plus I'm too lazy to create them "by hand" with Qt Linguist so I'll need to create another program : ts2qph to take existing data in a .ts file and create the appropriate .qch... Bunch of work, isn't it?
    No, not at all... I don't see a problem here. If you control items by their original (untranslated) names, you won't get duplicates. There is a nice example on doing it at the level of loading language names based on the translation of the word "English" in Gui Programming With Qt3.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    travelling
    Posts
    1,116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: announce: qmdilib 0.0.1

    And where could I find this example, I mean for free? Are you sure it will help in my case since I'm using : Qt4, homemade mdi-library, plugins ??
    Current Qt projects : QCodeEdit, RotiDeCode

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: announce: qmdilib 0.0.1

    Look at our links section, there is a link to the book there.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    travelling
    Posts
    1,116
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: announce: qmdilib 0.0.1

    Quote Originally Posted by wysota
    Look at our links section, there is a link to the book there.
    Sure of that? I didn't find it!
    Current Qt projects : QCodeEdit, RotiDeCode

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: announce: qmdilib 0.0.1

    Quote Originally Posted by fullmetalcoder
    Sure of that? I didn't find it!
    No, I'm not, Jacek cares about the section, I was sure the link was there. If it's not, use google or even search the forum, the book was surely referenced more than once.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Converting Qt translation files into phrase books

    Quote Originally Posted by fullmetalcoder View Post
    Plus I'm too lazy to create them "by hand" with Qt Linguist so I'll need to create another program : ts2qph to take existing data in a .ts file and create the appropriate .qch... Bunch of work, isn't it?
    Just in case someone's looking for such a tool, it already exists and is included in Qt since Qt 4.5. Its name is lconvert.
    $> lconvert --input-file my.ts --input-format ts --output-file my.qph --output-format qph

    hints to get there: ts2qph qph2ts tstoqph qphtots ts2pbk pbk2ts tstopbk pbktots

    Cheers,
    Last edited by alxobr; 19th June 2011 at 16:29. Reason: make reference easier to find

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Cool qmilib version 0.0.5

    Version 0.0.5 is released: https://github.com/elcuco/qmdilib/releases/tag/v0.0.5

    Note that the code is now in github. The "binary" there contains the code, and a doxygen build of the documentation (besides that - the zip from github should be the same). Yes, more than 12 years developing this library... man, I feel old. BTW: the original releases are here: https://www.linux-apps.com/content/s...?content=40721 or https://www.linux-apps.com/content/s...?content=61365, but I cannot reset the password (kde-apps.org and qt-apps.org merged, who knew..). If anyone can help with that - I will be happy.

    Changelog is

    • code is released now under a dual license: (L)GPL 2 or 3
    • code refactoring: qmdiClient::mdiClientFileName() should be used instead of
      old "filename"
    • code refactoring: qmdiClient::name has been renamed to qmdiClient::mdiClientName
    • code refactoring: include files for qmdiActionGroup and qmdiActionGroupList changed
      from "actiongroup.h" and "actiongrouplist.h" into "qmdiactiongroup.h" and qmdiactiongrouplist.h"
      Transitional includes have been added, to be removed next version, please update your code
    • code refactoring: qmdiActionGroupList::updateMenu() is deprecated, use
      qmdiActionGroupList::updateMenuBar()
    • core refactoring: no need to pass the parnet on the constructor, instead the
      qmdiTabWidget and qmdiWorkspace will check for the mdi host when mdiClients
      are added
    • new feature: qmdiClients are notified of (un)merged from a host
    • new feature: qmdiTabWidget will hide the tabbar if the number of tabs is less
      then 2 widgets
    • new feature: when qmdiHost adds a qmdiClient if that client is also a widget,
      add it's menus+toolbars actions to the widget.
    • new feature: you can tell qmdiHost not to update it's GUI by changing
      qmdiHost::updateMenusAndToolBars
    • new feature: you can convert a qmdiActionGroupList to a single popup menu
    • build system: redesign the build system to ease the usage of the library inside your application
    • build system: building by default shared and static libraries
    Last edited by elcuco; 28th August 2018 at 08:30. Reason: Update BB code

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: qmilib version 0.0.5

    I am releasing version v0.1.0 - download it here: https://github.com/elcuco/qmdilib/releases/tag/v0.1.0

    Changelog is basically "drop qt4/qt5 support, and use cmake for building".

    (Yes, kids, I am bumping a thread from 2006, almost 18 years old... raise your hand if you are younger than the last version).

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.