Results 1 to 20 of 66

Thread: linking of combox with lineEdit.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    Quote Originally Posted by Devoraz View Post
    after closing the dialog. i would need to use case method with the combobox i think? as there are 8 choice to select.
    After closing the dialog use QComboBox::currentIndex() or QComboBox::currentText() to determinate the box. Either use switch or if/else unless you don't have stored your nodes in a QList etc.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    okay first of all. to kickstart. i suppose i have to connect the combobox to the qlineEdit right?

    i had look through the some examples and the QT Assistant. but i am still confuse of how to go about connecting it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    Quote Originally Posted by Devoraz View Post
    okay first of all. to kickstart. i suppose i have to connect the combobox to the qlineEdit right?

    i had look through the some examples and the QT Assistant. but i am still confuse of how to go about connecting it.
    Come on, what's the problem QCombobox::currentIndexChanged(const QString&) -> QLineEdit::setText()! REad about signal and slot mechanism.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Post Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    come on. i am very new to this QT library. i am dump to do this project for my Final Year of Diaploma. please be patience with me

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    Quote Originally Posted by Devoraz View Post
    come on. i am very new to this QT library. i am dump to do this project for my Final Year of Diaploma. please be patience with me
    then first of all stop using words that made us think you are exp. And use the newbie section..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    hmm so i think your problem is quite simple:
    1. You open a dialog with combo box and line edit
    2. Then you edit this dialog and close it
    3. After close you want to set the right bubble (yellow for example) with the right text.
    Right?

    If yes then:
    1. If you have some custom dialog (your own subclass of QDialog) just make two methods for it: one to get the selected index and one to get the line edit text. I assume you use QDialog::exec() to open it, so after exec() just read those values and set the right bubble with right text calling your method which paints it (whith QPainter and so on).

    2. If you have QDialog object and you set the ui to it (setupUi()) then you can get the values staight form ui object (Ui::SomeDialog).
    I would like to be a "Guru"

    Useful hints (try them before asking):
    1. Use Qt Assistant
    2. Search the forum

    If you haven't found solution yet then create new topic with smart question.

  7. The following user says thank you to faldzip for this useful post:

    Devoraz (27th July 2009)

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    faldzip. i dont know how to get the selected index of the combobox.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.


  10. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    can i have an example of code for me try out or something.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    brother... just for two minutes try to put yourself in our shoes.. first of all we still dont know what is your exact problem.. secondly you dont seem to be intrested in showing a bit your your code.. thirdly .. you dont know how to use the currentIndex...

    seriously... i really doubt your exp. in programming... Did you jumped directly to Qt before learning C++ or flow charts even?? ... I dont want to be harsh.. but you would do yourself a favour if you start reading more of assistant.

    or you can wait for our gurus for answers... i am out of luck...

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    MrDeath. yes i understand. dun doubt my programming. i got all A for my programming module for my diaploma course. i've learn c# c++ htm and mp 8051.

    but the problem here is QT library. i am really totally new to it. i am dump with this project for my Final Year Project. i myself is really struggling. i had done alot of change to my GUI.

    if i were to show my codes. its a whole lot of things to show =X

    i did try to understant the assistant. but it didnt work. i am doing this project on my own, my only hope is you guys from forum.

    really need the help. alright. so what izzit that you dun understand of my problems?

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    ok... the very first process of solving a problem is to isolate it from the rest of the program.
    please make a very small compilable program which reproduces your problem. I will not take more than 30 min to make one..

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    Quote Originally Posted by Devoraz View Post
    can i have an example of code for me try out or something.
    There are a lot of examples in Qt Examples & Demos, and a lot of descriptions of methods, classes and everything in Qt Assistant. Just run it and read some text!
    I would like to be a "Guru"

    Useful hints (try them before asking):
    1. Use Qt Assistant
    2. Search the forum

    If you haven't found solution yet then create new topic with smart question.

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    3

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    alright i will use the example codes to try.

  16. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,360
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: linking of combox with lineEdit.

    Guys, just reminding you we're dealing with a school project here. Remember about our policy on helping with school projects - only hints, no ready solutions. The guy has to learn and based on the content of this lenghty thread, he needs it. Foremost the "concept of programming" is required. The programming language is just a tool.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. Qt linking problem
    By LovesTha in forum Newbie
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30th March 2009, 23:31
  2. How to update lineEdit
    By HelloDan in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17th February 2009, 07:01
  3. Copy / Paste doesn't work with LineEdit
    By ia32 in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th May 2008, 21:44
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th February 2006, 09:11
  5. subclassing or redrawing a lineEdit
    By jayw710 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th February 2006, 18:26

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.