Results 1 to 20 of 41

Thread: Checking a port if it's in use/open

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    I am a little confused. I understand that a port can only have one service running on it .. that part doesn't confuse me .. what confuses me is the answers that are being given. The OP wants to write a software that tells him when a port sees activity .. but 5500 is only an example.

    If the OP is given an answer to write a Firewall rule .. why isn't he given an answer on how Firewalls monitor ports? What I am reading here is the OP wants to write a Firewall like software and port 5500 is just an example. Maybe I am wrong, sutee84.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Hi!

    You're not wrong. I just want to check the activities on some ports, and I want to know if somebody connect to the pc, and send a message.
    I want it to work on windows, because there is windows on that pc, what I want to use my software on.
    There is winvnc on that pc, and I just want to know, if somebody connect to the pc with vnc.
    If somebody connected/trie to connect to my pc, the application send me a message.
    That is, what I want.

    Thx.
    Regards,
    Sutee84

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,360
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Quote Originally Posted by sutee84 View Post
    You're not wrong. I just want to check the activities on some ports, and I want to know if somebody connect to the pc, and send a message.
    I want it to work on windows, because there is windows on that pc, what I want to use my software on.
    There is winvnc on that pc, and I just want to know, if somebody connect to the pc with vnc.
    If somebody connected/trie to connect to my pc, the application send me a message.
    That's exactly what Intrusion Detection Systems (such as firewalls) do. And I don't see much point in doing that in pure userspace anyway as:
    1) you're making your system vulnerable to attack if your software is flawed
    2) port scanning has become an everyday practise even for non-malicious software so you'll get lots of false positives without detecting any port scanning patterns like real IDS systems do
    3) your software will make the port appear as "open" for port scanning techniques encouraging future attempts to break into the system using that port
    4) to make your software run you will have to bring the existing firewall down for it and if you're interacting with the IDS anyway, why write your own software instead of configuring the firewall properly?
    5) you will not be able to start the real service (i.e. a real VNC daemon) on that port for as long as your software is running
    6) if there can't be any real service running on that port, why bother checking if anyone tries to connect to it in the first place?

    If you still insist on writing your own piece of software, just start a server on the port you want monitored and when something tries to connect to it, drop the connection (I think you have to accept it first, otherwise it will not leave the queue eventually blocking any future attempts to connect to the port) and send the message.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Hi!

    Can you write me a short example how to make a server and check the port as you wrote, because I have never used QNetwork class?

    Thx.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    There are numerous examples in the Qt installation. Have a look in the 'examples' directory.

    As explained before however, don't expect your application to run at the same time as your VNC server, unless you want the pitfalls as explained above.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    I am a non-conformist when it comes to software. I agree with you that 'reinventing the wheel' is not truely innovation, but it can create innovation. I also like having the option of being able to code my own firewall.

    Quote Originally Posted by fatjuicymole View Post
    There are numerous examples in the Qt installation. Have a look in the 'examples' directory.
    Definitely a good start. The examples have a network and client that will show you something of how it works.

    As explained before however, don't expect your application to run at the same time as your VNC server, unless you want the pitfalls as explained above.
    I don't agree with this totally, fatjuicymole. The OP can thread the connections and when a connetion attempt is made to a port he can be notified, release the port, and allow the connection to proceed.
    Last edited by prof.ebral; 1st March 2010 at 22:03. Reason: fixed my bbcode tags

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,360
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Quote Originally Posted by prof.ebral View Post
    I also like having the option of being able to code my own firewall.
    But do it with means meant for coding a firewall, not a userspace application.

    The OP can thread the connections and when a connetion attempt is made to a port he can be notified, release the port, and allow the connection to proceed.
    Hmm? Could you share a snippet of that does what you mean? Where would the connection proceed exactly? It seems you are using unix, so let's assume netcat started as
    bash Code:
    1. netcat -l 10001
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    ... to be our server. Please write a minimal application (using whatever technology available for a standard u*ix system) that will bind a userspace application to tcp port 10001, intercept the connection, issue some debugging statement to the console and let the connection be picked up by the netcat pseudo-server.

    Please also perform a (shallow) theoretical analysis of how the tcp handshake (SYN ->, SYN+ACK <-, ACK ->)would look like from the client's perspective in such a situation.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Quote Originally Posted by prof.ebral View Post
    I don't agree with this totally, fatjuicymole. The OP can thread the connections and when a connetion attempt is made to a port he can be notified, release the port, and allow the connection to proceed.
    Explain how to do this with Qt. I don't think it's possible for the simple reason that a user-level application doesn't have that kind of access (and Qt only works in user-land). Sure, you can get the connect notification and ignore it (not accept the connection request), but you then can't pass on that notification to some other program without affecting the source route. The only way I see it working is if the client automatically has multiple retries, so the notification app gets the first, releases the port, and VNC gets the next, but thats hardly a practical solution.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,360
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Quote Originally Posted by fatjuicymole View Post
    The only way I see it working is if the client automatically has multiple retries, so the notification app gets the first, releases the port, and VNC gets the next, but thats hardly a practical solution.
    IMO this wouldn't work too, because of at least these facts and situations:

    1. smart network stacks (or maybe it's even enforced by the standard, I don't remember) disallow binding to a just-released port to prevent stale connections/stray packets that might confuse the new daemon
    2. race condition between the client and "server-switching" after an incoming connection is detected
    3. a situation when the server can handle more than one connection simoultaneously - you wouldn't get any notification about new connections when there would already be a connection accepted by the real server
    4. detecting when to reinstate the "peeking" daemon once the true connection is closed (+ a race condition again)

    Of course I know how to do it in some special conditions in userland using Qt, i.e. on Linux you can implement a netlink device that will receive all incoming SYN packets before they are delivered to their destination but this is part of Linux firewalling mechanism, so it's kind of cheating (as you're still using kernel space means to get the data delivered to user space) and may slow down networking due to the necessity of copying the first packet of the connection back and forth between kernel and user space (fortunately only for a single packet per connection). By the way, that's probably how Windows personal firewalls work too more or less which would also explain why networking (and whole computer experience as well) is slower on Windows when a firewall is active.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    I am not assuming anything with you wysota. I am using multiple Linux distros and multiple Windows distros. To start assuming with you from your first post is just going to lead the thread further off topic, prevent me from working on the networking software I am working on right now, and create a list of assumptions that digress from a truth based reality; something I need in my life.

    FYI, I am working on a software's server and client networking script at the moment and it is using threading. The code is in Python and PyQt, so I am not using pure Qt classes I am also using Python classes.

    Query: Where is 'user land'?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,360
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Quote Originally Posted by prof.ebral View Post
    I am not assuming anything with you wysota. I am using multiple Linux distros and multiple Windows distros. To start assuming with you from your first post is just going to lead the thread further off topic, prevent me from working on the networking software I am working on right now, and create a list of assumptions that digress from a truth based reality; something I need in my life.
    Then I don't see why you're making opinions and defending them if you are not ready to make one more step and prove your points. It's easy to say "I don't have time to respond to your arguments, I have better things to do". Well, the truth is I'm devoting my private time to being here as well. The biggest compensation I can get is to study difficult cases such as this one and learn from them.

    FYI, I am working on a software's server and client networking script at the moment and it is using threading. The code is in Python and PyQt, so I am not using pure Qt classes I am also using Python classes.
    I don't care - you can write the proof of concept for your solution in pure python code even, I'm sure we'll understand the principles. The software doesn't even have to work, just show us the main idea.

    Query: Where is 'user land'?
    Everywhere where 'kernel land' is not.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Then why don't you give me some time. I am rewriting the network and the current re-write is far from complete. If you want, you can download the source and see how the network uses threading.

    http://www.assembla.com/wiki/show/traipse

    The way the software's network is working: it uses threading to create new socks for each client, though all data is sent to one Port. It is pretty conceivable to use the same technology, only in reverse, to hand off the port request to a decision making function in the software. The function could notify the user through the UI and then the user could tell the software how to handle the request.

    While the port request is being made, yes the port will be used by a service, but after the decision is completed the software can stop using the port allowing it to be accessed.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Quote Originally Posted by prof.ebral View Post
    Then why don't you give me some time. I am rewriting the network and the current re-write is far from complete. If you want, you can download the source and see how the network uses threading.
    Using threading to handle multiple connections is not a problem, but how do you pass a connection handled by a thread to another process?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Quote Originally Posted by prof.ebral View Post
    If the OP is given an answer to write a Firewall rule .. why isn't he given an answer on how Firewalls monitor ports? What I am reading here is the OP wants to write a Firewall like software and port 5500 is just an example.
    1) Using a firewall rule is much simpler than writing software, and the OP might not have tried this avenue (Why write software if you don't have to? Your just making work for yourself for no reason)
    2) Qt doesn't support writing firewall software, and we are guessing the OP is using Linux/Unix/BSD as his profile only says X-Windows, and nothing about MS-Windows.
    3) An alternative way is given above that will work in Qt and be cross-platform, should the OP want to write software on his own.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Quote Originally Posted by fatjuicymole View Post
    1) Using a firewall rule is much simpler than writing software, and the OP might not have tried this avenue (Why write software if you don't have to? Your just making work for yourself for no reason)
    Because that is how innovations are made .. ?

    Sutee, you need to look at the QNetwork classes.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,360
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Quote Originally Posted by prof.ebral View Post
    Because that is how innovations are made .. ?
    Reinventing the wheel is not an innovation, it's lack of proper research.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  17. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,447
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 348 Times in 333 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Quote Originally Posted by prof.ebral View Post
    Because that is how innovations are made .. ?
    This forum is dedicated to the Qt framework or minor other programming tasks. For help on writing a firewall, you should use a website more suited to the task, such as one dedicated to advanced topics of your chosen operating system, as different OSs have wildly different ways of interacting with the network layer.

    Nothing in Qt will do anything like a typical firewall application. The only Qt-way of doing what the OP wants has already been described, but as pointed out, it is not the practical way to go about the task.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,360
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Quote Originally Posted by fatjuicymole View Post
    For help on writing a firewall, you should use a website more suited to the task, such as one dedicated to advanced topics of your chosen operating system, as different OSs have wildly different ways of interacting with the network layer.
    The term "network layer" may be used incorrectly here You probably meant "networking stack" as most firewalls used today (especially on Windows systems) are most likely implemented in higher layers than the network layer of both the ISO model and the TCP/IP model. And to position ourselves in the situation described in this thread, a piece of software acting in userspace would reside in the most upper layer - the application layer (so each piece of data would have to go all the way up, decapsulated from each layer's headers until reaching the application listening on the port). Just my five cents...
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Checking a port if it's in use/open

    Thank you very much!

Similar Threads

  1. checking for mySql support in QT
    By aj2903 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th October 2009, 07:17
  2. Is there any spell checking in QTextEdit?
    By naoyamakino in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd July 2009, 19:57
  3. StyleSheet syntax checking
    By MarkoSan in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th June 2008, 10:09
  4. Checking if bad pointer?
    By steg90 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd May 2007, 09:06
  5. checking for null
    By drkbkr in forum General Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th March 2006, 21:54

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.