Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: How to create package for a Qt4 application in linux..?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to create package for a Qt4 application in linux..?

    Quote Originally Posted by joseph View Post
    Please tell me how to uninstall this qt_4.3.4_Static verion from my machine atleast.
    Delete the directory containing the installation.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4

    Default Re: How to create package for a Qt4 application in linux..?

    I am rebuilding Qt4.3.4 in STATIC mode , and type the command in my static directory called qt4.3.4_Static.

    Qt Code:
    1. ./configure -static -release -qt-zlib -qt-gif -qt-libpng -qt-libmng -qt-libjpeg
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Now i am getting the following message
    Qt Code:
    1. Qt is now configured for building. Just run 'gmake'.
    2. Once everything is built, you must run 'gmake install'.
    3. Qt will be installed into /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4
    4.  
    5. To reconfigure, run 'gmake confclean' and 'configure'.
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I don't know what i have to do next, either "gmake" or "make sub-src" ( as per the wiki.qtcentre.org ).

    So can you people guid me to the right path ...?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: How to create package for a Qt4 application in linux..?

    gmake = GNU make, just invoke the command which is proposed.

    Compiling sub-src target is advised because (as it says on wiki):
    If you only type make (without the sub-src) then all examples and all demos will be build. With static libs this takes very much space (A test got about 3.8GiB big and it wasn't finished yet.), so I really don't recommend that way.
    J-P Nurmi

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4

    Default Re: How to create package for a Qt4 application in linux..?

    Quote Originally Posted by jpn View Post
    gmake = GNU make, just invoke the command which is proposed.

    Compiling sub-src target is advised because (as it says on wiki):
    After the following command ....
    Qt Code:
    1. /configure -static -release -qt-zlib -qt-gif -qt-libpng -qt-libmng -qt-libjpeg
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    I can see a new folder "Trolltech" got created in the following way...
    Qt Code:
    1. /usr/local/Trolltech ===========> Here also one "bin" folder is there .So should i update this bin folder in PATH variable ....?
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    The next step i did was..............
    Qt Code:
    1. make sub-src
    2. su
    3. make install_qmake
    4.  
    5. **********message after this is ***********
    6. install -m 755 -p /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/bin/qmake /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/bin/
    7. strip /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/bin/qmake
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Next step ....
    Qt Code:
    1. make install_mkspecs
    2. **********message after this is ***********
    3.  
    4. rm -f /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/default; ln -sf linux-g++ /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/default
    5. install -m 644 -p /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/qconfig.pri /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    6. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/aix-g++ /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    7. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/aix-g++-64 /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    8. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/aix-xlc /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    9.  
    10. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/freebsd-g++ /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    11. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/freebsd-g++34 /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    12. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/hpux-acc /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    13. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/hpux-acc-64 /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    14. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/hpux-g++-64 /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    15. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/hpuxi-acc-32 /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    16. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/hpuxi-acc-64 /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    17. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/hurd-g++ /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    18. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/linux-cxx /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    19. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/linux-ecc-64 /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    20. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/linux-icc /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    21. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/linux-icc-32 usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    22.  
    23. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/win32-msvc.net /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    24. cp -f -r /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/mkspecs/win32-msvc2005 /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/mkspecs/
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Next step is ....
    Qt Code:
    1. make sub-src-install_subtargets
    2.  
    3. **********message after this is ***********
    4. make: *** No rule to make target `sub-src-install_subtargets'. Stop. =====>> How can i solve this error ....?
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 



    Please help me ..!!!!

    Thanks for all your support
    Last edited by joseph; 6th March 2008 at 08:54.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to create package for a Qt4 application in linux..?

    Did you call "make sub-src"?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4

    Default Re: How to create package for a Qt4 application in linux..?

    Let me thank you all people ,especially to sunil thaha ,wysota , JPN ,who has given me the right link .

    Here is what i did to build Qt4.3.4 in STATIC mode .
    1) Downloaded qt4.3.4 from trolltech site
    2) Copied to new folder Qt4.3.4_Static ( to differentiate dynamic version of Qt4.x which is already installed in my machine )
    3) Changed folder to qt4.3.4_Static ie; ( cd /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static )
    4) typed the following command ...
    Qt Code:
    1. ./configure -static -release -nomake demos -nomake examples -nomake tools
    2. make
    3. su //for switching to root user
    4. make install
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    N:B=> After the command 1-st command ./configure -static -release -nomake demos -nomake examples -nomake tools ,the system will create a directory called Trolltech in the path /usr/local.

    N:B=> After the command make install , if you are going to the directory /usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.3.4/bin, you can see the following executable files....
    => qmake,uic3 ,uic ,moc , rcc

    5) Edit the PATH variable in /etc/profile ,to call the qmake from the new directory ( /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/bin )

    Qt Code:
    1. export PATH="/home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/bin:$PATH"
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    6) Then finally i compiled the my application successfully using the following ..
    Qt Code:
    1. /home/myname/qt4.3.4_Static/bin/qmake myfile.pro
    2. make clean
    3. make
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    7) Now checking the dependency ( of qt libraries ) in my executable file.
    Qt Code:
    1. ldd myExecutableFile
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    i could see the following in console after ldd command ...
    Qt Code:
    1. linux-gate.so.1 => (0xffffe000)
    2. libssl.so.0.9.8 => /usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.8 (0xb7f81000)
    3. libcrypto.so.0.9.8 => /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.8 (0xb7e4e000)
    4. libpng12.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpng12.so.0 (0xb7e2a000)
    5. libSM.so.6 => /usr/lib/libSM.so.6 (0xb7e20000)
    6. libICE.so.6 => /usr/lib/libICE.so.6 (0xb7e06000)
    7. libXi.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXi.so.6 (0xb7dfd000)
    8. libXrender.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXrender.so.1 (0xb7df4000)
    9. libXrandr.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXrandr.so.2 (0xb7def000)
    10. libXfixes.so.3 => /usr/lib/libXfixes.so.3 (0xb7de9000)
    11. libXcursor.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXcursor.so.1 (0xb7ddf000)
    12. libXinerama.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXinerama.so.1 (0xb7dda000)
    13. libfreetype.so.6 => /usr/lib/libfreetype.so.6 (0xb7d6e000)
    14. libfontconfig.so.1 => /usr/lib/libfontconfig.so.1 (0xb7d43000)
    15. libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXext.so.6 (0xb7d34000)
    16. libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0xb7c17000)
    17. libz.so.1 => /lib/libz.so.1 (0xb7c03000)
    18. libgthread-2.0.so.0 => /opt/gnome/lib/libgthread-2.0.so.0 (0xb7bfe000)
    19. libglib-2.0.so.0 => /opt/gnome/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0 (0xb7b69000)
    20. librt.so.1 => /lib/librt.so.1 (0xb7b60000)
    21. libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xb7b5c000)
    22. libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0xb7b44000)
    23. libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 (0xb7a5f000)
    24. libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0xb7a39000)
    25. libgcc_s.so.1 => /lib/libgcc_s.so.1 (0xb7a2d000)
    26. libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb78ff000)
    27. libXdmcp.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXdmcp.so.6 (0xb78f9000)
    28. libXau.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXau.so.6 (0xb78f4000)
    29. libexpat.so.1 => /usr/lib/libexpat.so.1 (0xb78d3000)
    30. /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb7fe3000)
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I think there is no dependent qt files for myExecutableFile

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    157
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4

    Default Re: How to create package for a Qt4 application in linux..?

    Can anybody explain what's the difference between the following statements...
    Qt Code:
    1. 1) ./configure -static -release -nomake demos -nomake examples -nomake tools
    2.  
    3. 2) ./configure -static -release -qt-zlib -qt-gif -qt-libpng -qt-libmng -qt-libjpeg
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Why i am asking because i got application build using the 1-st command , so just wanted to know will there be any problem for the 1-st command

    Thanks for all help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: How to create package for a Qt4 application in linux..?

    See
    Qt Code:
    1. ./configure -help
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    and make sure to read it carefully.
    J-P Nurmi

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: How to create package for a Qt4 application in linux..?

    You should have issued configure with -prefix where/to/install/Qt, you know... Currently you have qmake in your home directory and the rest in /usr/local/Trolltech/...

Similar Threads

  1. Create Qt Application Bundle in MacOs
    By joy in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th February 2008, 18:06
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th June 2007, 19:19
  3. Two question about create an application.
    By Kenneth in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th March 2007, 22:21
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12th January 2007, 11:19
  5. Execution of a qt application on an arm linux device...
    By mahe2310 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29th November 2006, 20:14

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.